Pass-a-Grille

Posted: January 13, 2011 in critique
Tags: , , ,

>

The gulf changes us. We come to its shores, bustling, frantic, anxious to have our little vacations. Our towels, blankets, picnic baskets and boogie boards poised and ready, as if we we were staging some strange forced – leisure invasion. The gulf, however, will have none of this, especially at sunset, especially at Pass-A-Grille. Here, the balanced – on – my – nerve’s edge twitch of our twenty-first century iLives are … becalmed.
When I was younger, I used to have these odd seizures that were brought on by stress. I have a dear friend who could just touch my arm and say my name, soft, almost a whisper. The tremors would stop. This is the effect the gulf has. It touches us, it whispers our names. And, for an all too transitory moment, we are changed. Shhh, peaceful.
It is cold, today, in much of the country. There’s snow in every state save Florida, but even here we are waking up to a frost warning. Even so, I look at these pictures and feel the caress of the sea breeze at sunset. I feel the waves licking in at my toes, dissolving the sand under my feet. For a moment, I’m exactly where I want to be, in this eternal Now of the gulf.

words and pictures © Christopher Ward. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

