Constellations

Posted: January 17, 2011 in poetry
Tags: , , , ,

>I can’t sleep dammit.

Constellations

The constellations keep to their steady courses
They roll around
while I can’t close my eyes
I think of clockwork gears measuring out the night
Giant wheels, both brass massive
and yet as transient as thought
Shh. Don’t you hear that?
Tick tick tick tick tick tick tick
I think I can feel time
It’s grainy, like sandpaper
Each second is separate, individual
Discrete
String the seconds together one after another
They are a stop-motion animation
A movie based on 4am
It tries to be a lullaby but fails
A song to keep baby from sleeping:
Stay.
Awake.
Stay.
Awake.
Feel the minutes clank and clunk along, like Ray Harryhausen monsters chasing Sinbad
Or;
The seconds are like a rasp
Grinding, chipping away
Feel them whittling you down small
Nearsighted
Grey
Achy and feeble
Leaving you alone in the darkness
No, not quite alone:
The things you forgot to do
Decisions you’ve made that could’ve gone another way
All that you’ve left undone, unsaid
Each second, they pile up and up and up
You look at your younger self
And he thinks “what’s the rush?”
And he thinks “I’ve got so much trouble”
And he thinks “no way can it get harder than this”
Welllll…
The constellations keep to their steady courses
They roll around
While I can’t close my eyes
They roll around
While I can’t close my eyes

An appropriate soundtrack for this could be Requiem, by King Crimson.

words and pictures © Christopher Ward. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

