Reverse Honeymoons, Astronomy and Arabic Numerals

Posted: February 5, 2011 in poetry
Tags: , , ,

So, today we recorded a scratch track for “Columbus”, which is now called “The Ghosts of Lincoln Towers”, by popular request. I was joking with Rob about how I need to start writing stuff that doesn’t have anything to do with me, because I was shaking after I sang it. Weird, huh? Anyway, this one is new/old, whatever, and it should be pretty self explanatory. I’m sure it’s the kind of thing that happens to everyone.

Stargazer

We took our reverse honeymoon Jamaica Queens New York City
Two separate flights out of bmi
Don’t cry 
In public 
This is goodbye

And while all the constellations kept their silence
Her friends and relations told her
“you’re better off without all his complications, drama and weird science”

I still take my coffee black at 3 am
Making charts and crunching the numbers
Practicing Stellar cartography is everything it’s said to be

And while all the constellations make their yearly rounds
She took my whole world and left me with telescopes and coffee grounds

They took the stars and put them in your eyes till you can’t see 
What you’ve done to me 
The Arabs had a number for 
What we couldn’t be
Is the certainty I was looking for
So I’ll look to the skies

Clothes litter the bed and books are spread 
Dog eared pages on the night stand
Crack the spine 
Scribble some notes in the margins
Debating with hive mind

While all the constellations never change
Her friends and relations tell her
“I always knew he was just too damn strange” 

I can plot the movement of the stars
Ten thousand years out 
But I can’t guess 
Where she is tonight 
I crave the clockwork 
I crave the tick tick tick tick tick
Predictability of the kraftwerk

While all the constellations move in their measured steps 
There’s a moving target
With nothing
Left

They took the stars and put them in your eyes till you can’t see 
What you’ve done to me 
The Arabs had a number for 
What we couldn’t be
Is the certainty I was looking for
So I’ll look to the skies

words and pictures © Christopher Ward. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

