Cassingle 2

Posted: August 14, 2011 in poetry, sci fi
Tags: , , ,

Here are a couple new things. Enjoy.

Here And Now

 

You’ve seen the American dream

You can put it on plastic, electronic beam

Spend all your nights on Ambien and Heineken

Hit that black coffee in the morning to  do it all over again

Finally

When you have everything

You ever wanted to own

They’ll put your rims

On the wheels of the sweet Cadillac

Come forth to carry you home

But that’s not here

And that’s not now, my love

And if that’s not clear

Then I don’t know how, my love

And I don’t know what else I can say

We all do what we gotta do

Find some way we can make it through

We all do what we gotta do

Push this pull that till we make it through

There are people on a screen

From the cloud or the net or electronic beam

They surround you all the time

Let me just add your name to this little list of mine

And there you are

Frozen smile in place

Your holy digital ghost

You never leave

Till your iLife apps

Arrive in the post

Some days I can barely speak

I get so mad and crazy but I feel so weak

There’s a voice that I hear telling me everything I’ve done wrong

It sounds just like mine, so I got no one else to pin it on

In another world

Where they’ve got cars that can fly

And you live in a dome

I dress like a spaceman

And it always works out

In our happy little home

But that’s not here

And that’s not now, my love

And if that’s not clear

Then I don’t know how, my love

And I don’t know what else I can say

We all do what we gotta do

Find some way we can make it through

We all do what we gotta do

Push this pull that till we make it through

Fire Spinners

 

Here comes the wave

Here comes the sea

Here comes the sand

Sticking to my feet

Here comes the sun set

And it’s always right on time

Here’s something to cling to

To ease my troubled mind

The twilight calls out to the fire spinners

Djembes laying down the time

There’s a new moon, you can see Orion hangin low

So put your little hand in mine, yeah

Here comes the night

Here comes peace

Here comes a little quiet

To make the madness cease

Here comes a little space

Just for you and me

A little time to be us

A little time to be free

words and pictures © Christopher Ward. All rights reserved.

Comments
  1. cherylmoore says:

    Hi, this is beautiful, and I can relate. I was wondering if these are lyrics and whether you perform them whilst playing? I know you’re a musician.

    • getbusyyall says:

      Thank you for saying that. The first one has gone through a couple of stylistic changes when I play it out. I accompany it on acoustic guitar in a kind of Afrobeat type rhythm. The second one I play ukulele with; I came up with the chords/melody before the words came to me.

      • cherylmoore says:

        That’s very cool, I also loved looking at the paintings of the Ukulele, I can tell how passionate you are about music. It comes across in your work.

Leave a Reply

