Greetings From Jamaica!

Posted: September 28, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

… Not really.

His Imperial Majesty, Emperor Haile Selassie the First (Jah Rastafari!) didn’t greet me at the tarmac, or at the cruise ship ports. I didn’t go.

I didn’t go to Ocho Rios Falls or Dunns River; I didn’t spend a misty morning in Nine Miles or Saint Ann’s Parish. Oh, Kingston Town, funky as you may be; I may have longed to be there to see the girls at play, but I took no country roads into West Jamaica (my momma). 

I didn’t get mad, bad, and a wicked inna bed with a woman nearly twice my age; I didn’t flex, as though it were time to have sex. Could you be loved? Maybe, but not on the Island in the sun. There were no farewells when daylight come. I stayed in Florida and had some red, red wine. Solomonic, my friend.

Here is where I will insert a picture, for no good reason other than to break up a wall – o – text:

but it's nice, tho.

pictured: not jamaica

 

The tide was high; I held on as long as I could.

One bright day, I’ll be on the beach, where there is a party.

So clap your hands and stomp your feet: I’ve got to be there, putting on my dancing shoes. Come on, little girl, come on. No, not you. You rub up, push up and love up, because you know you were wrong. Call me a rudie? Well, here’s a message to you: Cry to me.

As for me? I’m gonna lively up myself.

Rock? Steady.

Listening suggestion.

SHABBA!

words and pictures © Christopher Ward. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

