Time Out, Y’all.

Posted: July 22, 2012 in music, peace
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So.

This week, I’m taking a break from Allosaurus. Doing this for a couple of reasons. Allosaurus is about outsiders, misfits, loners, others, who have been granted abilities to act out their powers in larger-than-life ways. Some of these ways are quite violent, or dark; and the story actually gets darker as it goes on. Because of that, I felt that it was too early to return to that world so soon after the tragedy this past Friday morning in Colorado. I don’t want to talk about the person who did the killing – the focus should be on the people who died, the families, the ones who lived, the ones who sacrificed so that someone else in the theater could live. Point is, the general infotainment sphere can do without blood and terror for a little bit.

The other reason, strangely enough, was that I had planned to take a break this week regardless, because I had planned on seeing The Dark Knight Rises this weekend. While I’ve got a great deal of Allosaurus written in my head, I was concerned that, subconsciously, Christopher Nolan’s world would exert an undue influence on my own. I didn’t go Friday like I planned; that seemed to me at the time to be a bit disrespectful. But I did end up going later on, like a good little dork.

Strangely, I detected in the film a sort of meditation on the futility of violence, of war. Not something you generally expect in a summer blockbuster, and  definitely not what one expects from a superhero flick. Fitting, perhaps.

As I write this, I’m listening to Pandora. Ukulele Lady radio station. Some of the most peaceful music you can listen to, full of ukuleles and slide guitars, slack key tuning and blissed – out yodeling in a language that’s almost all vowels. Playing a lot of uke this weekend. Here’s a picture of Elaine, my tenor:

When I was in rehab, I was able to build up my coordination and finger strength by playing this puppy. In fact, the doctors told me that playing music actually allowed me to get well enough to leave a lot faster than I normally would have, so, yay Elaine.

 

This is Gertie: Gertie's stringsGertie's head stock.The first real uke I got my hands on. Lovely little soprano with a mellow voice. I’m afraid I can’t play either of these things as well as I would like, but the fun of it is in practicing.

As this week progresses, I would urge you to think on those peaceful things in your own life. I like to think about this:

 

 

 

 

 

words  and pictures © Christopher Ward. All rights reserved.

Comments
  1. tarunss says:

    Great post! Thanks for sharing.

  2. sakuraandme says:

    Rock on summer!!
    Listening to Dire Straits makes me feel relaxed…I’m an 80’s child! *laughing*

    • getbusyyall says:

      Yeah, Dire Straits’ “Sultans of Swing” used to play out of my clock radio around midnight a lot when I was a kid. Was actually supposed to be sleeping, but even then I figured, “Meh, I’ll sleep when I’m dead”. Glad you liked it!

  3. sakuraandme says:

    So funny!..my brother always says,”I’ll sleep when I’m dead”. *laughing*
    Sultans of Swing is awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

